Home > News & Blog > UNESCO Designated National Parks

Posted: October 24, 2020

Below are the U.S. National Parks that are Designated UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) Sites. There are two different classifications these U.S. National Parks have.

United Nations Flag for UNESCO Designated Post
United Nations Flag
UNESCO Designated World Heritage Site

The first is a UNESCO Designated World Heritage Site. World Heritage Sites are designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other form of significance. The sites are judged to contain “cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity”.

UNESCO Designated Biosphere Reserve

The second classification is a UNESCO Designated Biosphere Reserve. Biosphere reserves are ‘learning places for sustainable development’. They are sites for testing interdisciplinary approaches to understanding and managing changes and interactions between social and ecological systems, including conflict prevention and management of biodiversity.

These designations say a lot about the parks listed here and make them all the more spectacular. Visiting these parks is an honor for most and learning about them and how to preserve and protect them in the future should be all of our goals!

To discover more information about these parks, visit the park page using the links below.

Click here to discover all of the U.S. National Parks.


The National Parks and their designations:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *