About Gateway Arch National Park
Gateway Arch National Park, formerly Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, consists of the Gateway Arch, and St. Louis’ Old Courthouse. During a nation-wide competition in 1947-48, architect Eero Saarinen’s inspired design for a 630-foot stainless steel arch was chosen as a perfect monument to the spirit of the western pioneers. Construction of the Arch began in 1963, and was completed on October 28, 1965, for a total cost of less than $15 million. The Arch has foundations sunk 60 feet into the ground, and is built to withstand earthquakes and high winds; it sways up to 1 inch in a 20 mph wind, and is built to sway up to 18 inches. A Grand Staircase leads from the St. Louis levee up to the base of the Gateway Arch.
Fees are charged to ride the unique tram system to the top. Located just two blocks west of the Arch, the Old Courthouse is one of the oldest standing buildings in St. Louis, begun in 1839. It was here that the first two trials of the Dred Scott case were held in 1847 and 1850. Today, the building houses a museum charting the history of the city of St. Louis and restored courtrooms. These buildings, along with the accompanying grounds, make the total acreage for this park 90.96 acres.
The park collections include books, images, objects and papers about the history of the park, the history of westward expansion, the Lewis and Clark expedition and St. Louis history.
Source: National Park Service – Gateway Arch National Park – History & Culture
|Date the Park was Established:||November 30, -0001|
|Park Area (as of 2019):||192.83 acres (0.8 km2)|
|Recreational Visitors (2018 Total):||2016180 visitors|